June 20, 2008

  • Why is it so cool to see the name of someone one knows on the TV?

    Well, and movies, too, only that's never happened to me.

    But the TV thing has....we watch Wheel of Fortune, and while I don't often pay any particular attention to the credits of a show, a few weeks ago I noticed the name of a childhood friend - okay, more of an acquaintance - listed as the producer:  Harry Friedman. 

    That reminded me that he works in television, which I'd not thought of in ages.  Hadn't realized he'd moved up to the level of producing a staple such as WoF, however! 

    Tonight Pat Sajak actually mentioned Harry by name, as he pointed out that the show had given away over $300K this past week.  I guess that sort of thing comes to the attention of a show's producer.

    Who do y'all know who has made it (comparatively) big? 

Comments (5)

  • A guy I went to school with was "big" locally, in TV news, then traded up and, at our last connection, he was general manager of a Sacramento ABC outlet. That's pretty big. One of my best friends in Jr high is a freelance writer, lives in DC - that she can live there on a freelance income is impressive enough. More impressive is that she leaves her apartment several times a year to do mission work in various farflung parts of the world - she considers herself, at 48, retired. The writing must be more of a hobby! That's more impressive than Craig. We all were in the same homerooms throughout Jr High.

    That's about it that I know of. My high school class was a large one, and I'd say at least 2/3 of the class moved away after graduation. I rarely see anyone from back then. There could be lots of 'em who "made it." :)

    Oh, I guess my nephew, who is much in demand within the TimeWarner conglomerate (offers are frequent from various parts of the group) could be said to have "made it," although I don't think we'll see his name in lights anywhere. He's just quietly sockin' away the bucks. (or not so quietly, since we all know just what he makes, spends and saves...)

    me<><

  • me personally? no one.

    but we were at my in-laws tonight so we put on waverly place for my 15 yo sister, she is friends with a girl who is on the show (jennifer stone), they went to elementary school together & are still in touch. She hadnt seen the show yet (no cable).

  • My Dad had a buddy in High School who wrote Dazed and Confused about some guys back in high school.  My (ex) aunt's grandfather invented Miracle Grow (You should see the garden at his place : )  A friend from high school plays the guitar for the Texas Coutry group Lost Immigrants.  THey are pretty good.  They went on a military tour, where I got to hear him perform right here in Yokosuka.  A friend's sister won it all on Wheel of Fortune.   

    Some guy I know auditioned for and made the US Navy Band.  He is now a professional musician in Japan.  THat's as big as it gets

  • I know no one. 

  • Actually, you probably do, but just don't know who you know, if you see what I mean. :wink-wink:

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment