July 9, 2007

Comments (2)

  • For those of you who don’t normally go to my blog, I feel that it is my duty to inform people from all societies and cultures of the wrongness that is happening in Cairns, Australia.  I think Al Gore should get involved in this.  Please read the following from my own blog site, TALES OF A NAVY TUBIST:

    Alright.  Ya know, I came to Japan expecting to see some strange food.  I knew that they not only would have food that was strange just in the context of their own culture, but that they would also take food from other countries and mix in their own culture there too.  But I just didn’t think Australia would do it.

    The ship has arrived in Cairns, and so far it seems like there will be some great places to go eat.  Naturally, I have scoped out where the Mexican food places are.  One sounded particularly good, called Buckin’ Mex.  They boasted of colors and low prices with large portions.  My kind of place, right?  Let’s check out what else they boast of:

    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0>
    <TBODY>
    <TR>
    <TD class=content vAlign=top>

    “What you see above are our three Fajitas specialties: Crocodile, Prawns (shrimps) and Kangaroo. But they’re just a tiny sample of the many exceptional dishes to choose from at Buckin’ Mex.

    Whatever you select, you can be assured that we have used only the freshest produce available. What’s more, the recipe will be as authentic as possible. Not only do we take advantage of our extensive experience in Mexican restaurants to source ingredients rarely found elsewhere in this country, we are prepared to start from scratch to make our own.

    For a clearer idea of how far we go to satisfy your gastronomic needs, please read on.”

    BAAARRRFFFFFF!!!!  What?!!!  Authentic?  For who?!!  Have they lost their minds?  That actually reminds me of a funny story.  You know how the country of Australia is kind of associated with the Kangaroo.  When you think of Australia, you probably think of kangaroo.  Here’s some dialogue I had with an Australian fellow that might bring a chuckle:

    Alex- “So Martin, have you ever eaten kangaroo?”

    Martin-”What’s that, mate?”

    Alex-”Have you ever eaten kangaroo?”

    Martin-”No I haven’t”

    Alex-”Huh…really?”

    Martin-”Right”

    Alex-”Well, why not?  I thought that was something people might try at least once…”

    Martin-” Nah, mate.  I don’t think it’s right for me to eat the animal that’s on our currency.”

    Alex-”Hmm…I guess that’s right.  I don’t remember the last time I ever ate a bald eagle.”

  • Maybe only Australian rednecks eat kangaroo.  It is a marsupial, after all, like our possom.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *