April 17, 2007

  • How ridiculous.

    We elected to pay this year's property taxes in two payments, and this morning I went to the county tax assessor's online site to pay the balance.

    Apparently I somehow managed to make a payment last November that left a balance of a penny for the first half.  Can you believe the system wouldn't permit me to pay the entire amount, but would only take a PENNY?

    Looks as if the penny payment'll have to be posted before I can pay the other half.  e-hairout

Comments (4)

  • Strange and weird are the ways of the tax assessor collector!

  • I had a bill like that at the Emporium in SF. For three months they billed me for a penny. Finally one day I went to the store and announced that I had come to pay my bill. Then lay the bill and a penny on the counter. They probably spent$2 or more trying to collect that penny!

  • Apparently it posted, for this morning I was able to pay the balance.

    It does seem as if there'd be some mechanism in place to deal with amounts under a dollar, whether it's the tax assessor or a charge card.

  • A pox on  tax collectors and sinners.

    I like the new look of your page, Anne.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment