February 23, 2007

  • I'm excited. ;^)

    Those who cringe when they see me coming with my camera won't be excited, but *I* sure am!

    Ordered a new camera from Amazon.com.  According to their site, the order should have just made it in under the wire for me to get it overnighted, so I'll receive it on Monday, thus giving me time to practice with it prior to Brianna's school play on Tuesday evening. 

    It's still got 6 megapixels, like the one I use now, but it has a 12x optical zoom, optical image stabilization, and presumably minimal shutter lag.  Plus it uses an SD card, as does my current camera.  Wasn't terribly interested in having to switch to another memory media.  And it runs on AA batteries, instead of the dedicated battery as the one I'm using now requires.  Most irritating it's been, not to just be able to have spare batteries ready to pop in when necessary.

    Helloooo, Canon PowerShot S3!

    Basic Features

    • 6.0-megapixel CCD delivering image resolutions as large as 2,816 x 2,112 pixels
    • 2.0-inch color LCD monitor with 115,000 pixels
    • Electronic optical viewfinder of low-temperature polycrystalline silicon
    • Glass, 12x 6.0-72mm lens (equivalent to 36-432mm zoom on a 35mm camera)
    • 4x digital zoom (48x combined with optical)
    • FlexiZone autofocus and a manual focus mode
    • Full
      Automatic, Program AE, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Manual, and
      Custom exposure modes, as well as six main preset exposure or "Scene"
      modes, and eight special Scene modes
    • Manually adjustable aperture setting ranging from a
      maximum of f/2.7 to f/3.5 depending on lens zoom position, to a minimum
      of f/8.0
    • Shutter speed range from 1/3,200 to 15 seconds (although
      not all shutter speeds are available at all f-stops and focal lengths;
      see chart).
    • Built-in pop-up flash with five operating modes
    • Secure Digital (SD) memory storage
    • Power supplied by four AA batteries or optional AC adapter

    Special Features

    • Optical image stabilization
    • AF Assist Beam
    • Movie and Still shutter buttons with simultaneous operation
    • Stereo recording in Movie mode
    • Sound caption recording
    • Stitch-Assist mode for panoramic shots
    • Continuous Shooting, and 2 or 10-second Self-Timer modes
    • Unique "My Colors" mode
    • Night Display brightens LCD for easier framing of dark subjects
    • Ten custom Photo Effects
    • White balance (color) adjustment with eight modes
    • ISO adjustment with Auto, High Auto and five ISO equivalents
    • Automatic Exposure Bracketing and Automatic Focus Bracketing
    • Evaluative, Center-Weighted, and Spot metering options
    • DPOF (Digital Print Order Format) and PictBridge compatibility
    • USB 2.0 High Speed interface
    • USB cable for connection to a computer or certain printers (driver software included)
    • Video cable for connection to NTSC/PAL televisions, VCRs, etc.

    Will Monday ever come!?!? 

Comments (5)

  • Lucky! That looks awesome. I have my brother in laws old digital and it is pretty simple point n shoot but hey it works.

    And yes, I have photos from tonight. Still in the camera, i'll get them off later. tommorow likely.

  • My camera uses AA batteries and I use rechargable ones. So not only do I not pay for film, I don't pay for batteries either! (Except when I first bought them.) The few times I've let the batteries die without recharging I've just used regular batteries. I recommend rechargeables!

  • That is an awesome camera.  I have the next step down that has been rated #1 by Consumer Reports for the last three years.  I love it.  Hope you enjoy it.  It does take amazing pictures.

  • I hope the S3 lives up to its august predecessor's reputation.

  • Wowsers, Anne!  Let us know how you like it.  Love the idea of a 12x zoom.   Imagine the fear you'll strike into the hearts of all your nearest and dearest when you come at them with that.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment