October 22, 2006

  • We're a week and a half out from the start of NaNoWriMo and I'm already displaying a lamentable lack of imagination, both by simply retelling and fleshing out a fairy tale (The Twelve Dancing Princesses) and snitching Kelly's (aka: Badgermum) idea of looking to fairy tales for inspiration.

    Not looking promising, is it?

    Ah,well.  C'est la vie.  The key point is I do have something to write about.  No title, or characters, mind, but still....there's some sort of a plot in place.

    From little acorns, etc.  e-ghost

    Finally took a few minutes to start sketching out my story.  I can't do any actual, you know, official writing prior to November but one can make an outline, set the characters, and so on.

    I'm thinking of opening with the cobbler expressing equal measures of astonishment and exasperation
    at yet another rush order for shoes for the twelve princesses up at the
    castle.  It's not that he doesn't appreciate the money....though
    royalty's a notoriously slow pay....but for crying out loud, what are
    they doing with them?  Eating
    them as midnight snacks?  And it's always a rush order for three dozen
    shoes.  How the heck is he supposed to take care of his other customers if every couple of days he has to drop everything to make three dozen shoes for the princesses?

    What's going on up there, anyway?

    Next up are the princesses themselves.  Each has to be unique.  A dozen of 'em.  Hmmmmm......   e-headscratch

    BTW, for those poor souls unfamiliar with this particular Grimm's Fairy Tale, here 'tis, complete with lovely illustrations:  http://home.att.net/~miranda8980/12princesses.html

Comments (1)

  • I was considering throwing something fairy-tale-ish into my chick lit, but keeping it chick lit-tish and an original plot (or so I hope - I don't have one just yet... waiting for my MC to talk to me).

    Will you be midnight writing ? I can never sleep after t or t'ing (or a church festival, which is what we are doing this year again - last year they didn't do one as they were helping NOLA refugees out and didn't have the money/space for it) so  I always stay up and get started.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment