September 18, 2006

  • A year or so (maybe more?  amazing how fast time passes) I wrote about my astonishment regarding the existance of "pet spas" or "pet resorts" or "doggy day care."  American pets are certainly living the life of Reilly, aren't they? 

    But wait!  There's more!  Those pets aren't as young as they used to be, so here comes yet another pet aid:

    web-layout-doggysteps-r3_09 

    When I was growing up, the most common rule in homes with dogs was "Get OFF THE SOFA!"  There were gadgets created for just that purpose....to keep Bowser from hopping up on the couch as if he owned the joint, getting dog fur all over it.

    Clearly Bowser won the war, for now we have doggy steps, to help facilitate Bowser getting onto the sofa if he can't manage the feat for himself.

    From "I'm not telling you again, mutt....get down off that chair!" to "Here, snookums, Mummy bought you your vewy own set of steps so you can get on your favorite chair....here, have a doggy snack while you're up there" in the space of 30 or 40 years.  Amazing. 

Comments (3)

  • I would've commented earlier, but my dog was using the computer so I had to wait. :lol:

  • My husband is the one that allowed the dog up on the sofa. He thought she was so cute as a puppy and would let her up there every time I wasn't looking. Thirteen years later it's not so cute and he didn't want to get another dog until she died because he didn't want another dog hopping up and sleeping on the sofa. But we did get another dog, and she doesn't sleep on the sofa (tho she does like the old broken easy chair). Now, because she's a basset hound she can't see out of the house windows unless she stands on the heat registers (we have hot water baseboard heat) or she stands on the sofa or nice chair in the living room so she can see out the window (poor short dog). I can guarantee you there will be no aids for my dogs to get up on the furniture....besides the old dog has problems with stairs and steps.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment