April 5, 2006

  •  I'd hoped to manage to be with Kathryn and Margaret and Heather for a couple of days without humiliating myself, but no joy.


    OTOH, at least this time I didn't spill something on myself, which is my usual mode of embarrassing myself.  No, this time I took a new tack entirely.


    On Sunday, after attending the 9:30 service at St. Andrews with Heather and her family, we stood around outside chatting with the Doskeys and Kathryn.  I noticed a man standing behind Margaret and while I knew he looked familiar, I could not put my finger on where I'd seen him, try though I might.  Worried at it and worried at it.  Could he be, I speculated, Burk Parsons, the other pastor (besides RC Sproul)?  Finally I went up to him, seeing as how he was hovering around the people I was with, and held out my hand, introducing myself.


    He smiled hesitantly, shook my hand, but didn't introduce himself.  Darn.


    Finally I prodded Margaret, indicating the man-I-could-not-place, and whispered, "Who is that?"


    She looked justifiably startled as she exclaimed, "Why, it's Conrad!"


    Conrad.  Her husband.  The one who'd I been sitting next to at the Olive Garden restaurant the previous evening, having a discussion about the Navy, submarines, etc.  That Conrad! 


    e-thud


    Talk about a "Take me now, LORD!" moment.  How I didn't recognize him, I can't imagine.  Okay, fine, he cleans up real nice and was in a dark suit, but still....! 

Comments (13)

  • No comment! 

    Well, one.

    LOL!  I love it!

    .

  • Okay. I am SO Laughing over here. That is too funny.

  • It IS funny. Poor Conrad. Were you not wearing your glasses or what?

    You goof!

    I could SO easily have done that.

    As Ron says of you, "Two Cindys!"

    Poor you.

    me<><

  • What can I say???  She is her mother's child. I was at a meeting today and trying to find a person on my committee consisting of 4! I was wrong 2 times, not one but 2. All I can say is , we are sweet, well meaning and have a rotten memory. I long ago decided that my place in life was to make others feel good about their memory. Oh well, as you get older, every one else (except some very irritating people) wind up with as bad  a memory as yours. So not to worry, Anne, be abjectly apologetic and remember that you have done a good deed!! Mom

  • The first time we went to our new church, a man came up and greeted us heartily.  He looked familiar but I had no clue who he was.  Sam told me afterwards it was our chiropractor.  You'd think I'd remember a man who's had his hands all over me.  Just didn't recognize him in a setting different from the one I'm used to seeing him in.    It happens to us all sooner or later.

  • But Conrad was standing a couple of feet behind his wife, Lois.  He wasn't out of place....that is, to my mind, his "place."  That's how I know him....as Margaret's husband.

    And it wasn't a blank of seconds, but at least three or four minutes.  At least.  How I could see him standing in the same proximity as Margaret yet not recognize him absolutely baffles me.  =8^o

  • Anne, you are such a gem...a lesser person could not have told the story on herself!

    And I especially like the part about Conrad's place being a couple feet behind his wife.

  •   He must have combed his hair extra well on Sunday.  He cleans up well.  Its funny because his son has wild jungle hair....they are all lucky they don't have depleted rain forest hair.   Haaaaaaaaha.

  • I'm a registered ezboard person now but I can't find anything.  I'm Mrs Charlie Brown.

  • Heather! I look forward to meeting you online soon. I mean, chatting. Or interacting. Or something.

    :)

    Sorry I missed you last night.

    me<><

  • "But Conrad was standing a couple of feet behind his wife, Lois.  He wasn't out of place....that is, to my mind, his "place."  That's how I know him....as Margaret's husband."

    Then you're simply without excuse, Anne.

  • LOL! He didn't mind...he thought you were joking...making fun of the ritual of friendship thing we just did or something.

    As far as the hair thing Heather mentioned...were you there, Anne?  Steven asked Hannah for a kiss and she said, "No! You have shaky jungle hair!".  Kathryn said atleast she's discerning!  Heather said, "atleast he doesn't have depleted rainforest hair" like her own Steve! 

    How silly we can be!  We loved having you with us, dear Anne!  Thank you, again, for coming!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment