January 25, 2006

  • I took Charles to the recruiting office a little bit ago, and met his recruiter.  A nice man.  He'd met Alex this morning up at Heights, for he attended the brass quintet's performance this morning for the music department and Navy ROTC.  The recruiter was then driving Charles to the hotel (which name I forgot to get, and Charles hasn't his cell phone, I don't suppose....dang!), planning to arrive about 3:00 p.m., so presumably they're almost there.

    [worriedly]  Don and I are hoping to be present for Charles' swearing-in tomorrow morning, but it might occur too early for us to make it.  To be really safe, we should be there by 8 a.m., but that's when Dmitry needs to be at school, and the MEPS office is in Dallas, plus that's rush hour.  Soonest we can probably be there is about 9 a.m.  Most likely 8 a.m. is the earliest the swearing-in would take place; ISTM when it was Alex it was usually closer to 9.  We'll see!  Charles is to call if we miss it.

    I tried hard to snag a photo of him entering the recruiting office, but the stinker was too quick for me; all I could manage was the back of the recruiter:

    Looks like this is actually happening.  He gave me his set of keys, told me Aaron would probably be by for his computer, left his debit card, etc. 

Comments (4)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment