October 24, 2005

  • [plaintively]  I tried, really I did.

    The dipped-in-egg-then-dredged-in-cracker-crumbs deep-fried tilapia filets looked right tasty.

    Ate one bite and that's all I could manage. 

    Don ate his but said he's never been terribly partial to fried fish,
    himself, much preferring the type of recipe we had last week.

    Then there's Dmitry.....for his
    money that was the finest meal he's eaten since he hit America. 
    Scarfed down his, and was incredulous when he grasped I was sincerely
    offering my filet-less-one-bite to him; that if he didn't eat it it'd
    be dumped in the trash.  Made short work of it, then I swear cast
    sheep's eyes at Don's (who mayn't have been crazy about fried fish, but
    was hungry enough to eat it, especially with lots of tartar sauce).

    Dmitry tried to get me to promise to make it every week. 

Comments (3)

  • Interesting, we ate at Bennigans Friday and both had the grilled salmon etc. The etc was enough to fill us up and we ate just a bit of the salmon. I brought it home, ever the thrifty housewife, and tonight we had salmon patties. Turned out good, needed a bit more egg and bread crumbs and not to be a bit overcooked but they were good. I used italian bread crumbs to coat out side. Worked fine.

  • Tilapia wants to be grilled or broiled, not fried. :)

  • Oh, that sounds soooo good. I never, ever cook fish because it's just too costly to get enough to feed us all. Besides, my kids have barely ever tasted it (except in the form of fish sticks or tuna) so I think I'd get a negative reaction from at least some of them.

    But that sounds soooo good.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment