September 24, 2005

  • Two things...

    One, do y'all doggedly finish a book once begun, or if it fails to hold
    your interest do you shut it and go on to another?  I'm giving up
    halfway through on Joan Hess's Good Bye Body, as it occurs to me I have absolutely zero interest in whodunit.  Borrowed the newest Mary Daheim (The Alpine Quilt) from the library, too, and can't gear myself up to actually read it.

    I fear those authors have run their course so far's I'm concerned, as
    have quite a few others, such as Diane Mott Davidson and there's
    someone else whose name escapes me just now. 

    Bummer.  Good mystery authors aren't that easily come by.

    Two, where the heck has Charlie Daniels been all my life? 
    Yesterday while I was out running around his song "The Devil Went Down
    to Georgia" played on the radio and as usual I enjoyed it, so when I
    got home I booted up the Yahoo! Music Engine and searched for it. 
    Decided to play the album it was in and hoo! boy!, fell crazy in
    love.  Bought it for the princely sum of $7.81. 

    His rendering of Orange Blossom Special is magnificent!  If you've access to Yahoo!'s music, or Rhapsody or something, give it a listen.

Comments (7)

  • Anne, have you ever read Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody series? Too funny! But you have to be sure to read them in sequence. Also, did you ever look up Maeve Binchy's books? Yes, I sometimes go to the library and can't figure out what I really want to read and so come home with a varied collection, much of which I never get to because it doesn't ever tickle me. And, that happens with videos too.

  • I regret to say, yup.

    54 last June.

    [slyly] OTOH, Lois, Fr. Bill, and my mother are all older'n me.

  • I'm giving up renting and borrowing videos, as I've not watched even one of 'em the last three or four times I did so.

    Simply do NOT watch much television, whether it's broadcast, cable, or movies. CNN if something big has happened, but that's about it.

    And dang if I didn't forget all about the Amelia Peabody series! Will definitely check those out. Thanks, Eleanor!

  • Charlie Daniels has been here the whole time.  You claim all this big southern heritage, and you don't know 'The South's Gonna Do It Again", where they even quietly list themselves as one of the all time great southern bands, the CDB!

    Oh, sweethart, there are petals falling of your yellow rose.  :(

    Better late than never, however!  ;)

  • Plumtree, you'll laugh, but I've recently gotten into Ricky Skaggs in a big way -- and he's made me see "Cat's in the Cradle" in a whole new way. Maybe it's just that I feel like Ricky has the street cred and sincerity to make a song like that believable, moreso than Harry Chapin. I dunno.

    Anne, if Charlie Daniels is your speed, you ought to check out Ricky Skaggs, too. Library CD's are a great way to sample music, if your library has a good collection. I highly recommend "Live at the Charleston Music Hall."

  • Will do, Jane, thanks!

  • "Uneasy Rider" and "Uneasy Rider 2" are fine listenin'.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment